Lepet It Bistrot

Caring for Life

Frederic Aasbo Returns to Champion’s Podium 2021 Formula DRIFT PRO Finals

A difficult-fought Final Spherical back at Southern California’s famed Irwindale Speedway (a.k.a. The Dwelling of Drift) crowned a pair of title-takers in the 2021 Formulation DRIFT Pro and its feeder Website link Eu PROSPEC Championships—complete with all the predictable strength, drama, and amazing driving expertise each series have demonstrated all year.

Just after half a dozen misses due to the fact proclaiming the 2015 FD Pro title, Norway’s Frederic Aasbo took the Pro opposition trophy with some flawless function in his Rockstar Vitality Drink Toyota GR Supra and constant support from the Papadakis crew. Aasbo’s point totals from four second-place finishes and an before Spherical earn in St. Louis aided him assert this year’s DRIFT crown.

“It’s been 6 many years due to the fact we won the to start with Championship and this was a a lot more challenging combat,” stated Aasbo following descending the podium. “I’d been in a slump and was not certain if I experienced it anymore—but I consider it is pretty obvious I nonetheless do, which provides me renewed strength to put together for 2022.”

In the Pro Qualifying spherical, Aasbo would foreshadow the evening with a nearly excellent ninety five factors just before the real combat began—against the season’s second-place finisher Matt Discipline (Usa) and Aurimas Bakshis, who led a stunning 100 point, Spherical 8 victory all through the event, catapulting the Lithuanian driver to third all round for 2021.

“I came into this Spherical placing pressure on myself to make up factors so I could stand on the Championship podium and we did it!” Bakchis gushed. “Winning it energizes me to get that Championship earn up coming year.”

In the Website link Eu PROSPEC competition—with thirteen drivers in the mathematical operating to just take the title—reigning winner Dmitry Brutskiy prevailed, building historical past as the competition’s to start with two-time winner, vindicating a determination to keep on being in PROSPEC this year alternatively than opting to go up to the Pro Championship leading league.

“The back-to-back earn was a good deal of function but I’m super-enthusiastic,” stated Brutskiy, who claimed to be open up to an FD Pro go at this point—while possibly aiming for a third PROSPEC championship as a substitute. “My target was a podium at each and every spherical, which we obtained following some seriously near battles … I’m on the lookout ahead to what ever comes up coming.”

Saturday night’s FD Final Spherical spectacle in Irwindale was capped by some notable bulletins from Formulation DRIFT icons. 2011 FD Pro Winner Dai Yoshihara (Japan) is retiring, and 2010 and 2020 FD Pro Winner Vaughn Gittin Jr. is leaving the series to go after other jobs.

Finally, Formulation DRIFT president and co-founder Jim Liaw introduced he will be going to PRI whilst retaining a function in the series—and welcomed Vice President Ryan Sage as the up coming President of Formulation DRIFT Holdings, LLC.

“After the trials we experienced to conquer in 2020, it was amazing to see admirers back listed here at Irwindale, witnessing the phenomenal driving,” stated Liaw following the race. “It’s bittersweet for me simply because this will be my previous event as President, but I’m so pleased to conclude on a impressive superior with another thrilling last. I search ahead to observing what 2022 provides and I know Ryan Sage will carry on to strengthen and make improvements to Formulation DRIFT.”

Formulation DRIFT will announce its upcoming 2022 timetable at an upcoming press convention. For extra facts and the latest updates for up coming year pay a visit to formulad.com.

For obtain to exceptional gear movies, celeb interviews, and extra, subscribe on YouTube!